What did you use to do when you were a child? / O que você costumava fazer quando era criança?

(Dear English readers, I’ve just realized that it’s hard to write in English when we are talking about the past… I hope you can understand something, hehehe)

Today I went to the Museum of the City of New York. It’s a small museum, but it has an interesting part: more than 10.000 toys that New Yorkers have donated to it for about 100 years. Some of them are just amazing. We can see big houses for dolls, a plush vampire, trains and cars from the 19th century…

The most interesting for me, however, was think about wich toys I would donate to a museum.

Actually, my prefered play was “to be” a teacher. I remember that I used to put my black board in the living area and imagine my students. And my prefered class was about the clouds names. That cloud that looks like a sheep is the “cúmulo” (I won’t try to translate this names, sorry…). The grey one is the “cúmulo nimbo”. And that cloud that looks like a line is the “cirro”.

My second prefered play was to sell things. When I was a little child I used to dream to be a cashier when I grow up, just to have that machines with a lot of numbers doing noises all the time. But I didn’t have a machine like that.

I had lots of other machines, actually. A machine to write, a machine to do pop corn (hummmmm), a microphone… I used to sell pop corn to my sister! Sometimes, we did juice with colored paper dissolved in water. And sometimes we did food for dolls with peels of vegetables.

And I can’t forget about our “buses”. We used to put all the chairs in the living room and to imagine that we were in a bus. So fun!

By the way, I used to eat a lot of chocolates on the afternoons during all my childhood and this is the only thing that I continue to do nowadays.

No clouds in the sky tonight…

====================

Hoje eu fui no Museu da Cidade de Nova Iorque. É super pequeno, mas com uma parte interessante: eles têm mais de 10 mil brinquedos que os nova iorquinos doaram para o museu durante cerca de 100 anos. Alguns deles são incríveis: casas de boneca gigantes, um vampiro de pelúcia, trens e carros iguais aos que eram usados no século 19.

O mais interessante, no entanto, é que eu fiquei pensando em quais brinquedos que eu tive eu poderia doar para um museu.

Na verdade, minha brincadeira preferida era “ser” professora. Eu costumava colocar minha lousinha na lavanderia e imaginar que os alunos estavam lá. Minha aula preferida era sobre os nomes das nuvens. A que parece um carneirinho é a “cúmulo”. A cinza é o “cúmulo nimbo”. E aquela que parece uma linha é o “cirro”.

Minha segunda brincadeira preferida era vender coisas. Eu queria ser caixa de supermercado quando eu crescesse, só para mexer naquelas máquinas cheias de números e que fazem barulho o tempo todo. Mas eu nunca tive uma máquina daquelas.

Eu tive muitos outras máquinas, na verdade. Uma máquina de escrever, uma de fazer pipoca (hmmmmmm), um microfone… Eu adorava vender pipoca pra minha irmã! Algumas vezes a gente também fez suco com papel crepom dissolvido em água. Sem contar nas comidinhas para bonecas feitas com cascas de vegetais.

Não posso esquecer, ainda, dos nossos ônibus. A gente colocava todas as cadeiras da casa no corredor e fingia que era um ônibus. Mega divertido!

Além disso, eu costumava comer um monte de chocolate à tarde durante minha infância e essa é a única coisa que sobrou daquela época.

Nenhuma nuvem no céu hoje…

~ por Lúcia Nascimento em 02/11/2009.

2 Respostas to “What did you use to do when you were a child? / O que você costumava fazer quando era criança?”

  1. I am very impressed with your English writing!! Great job!!

  2. he Lucia, I also like the way you wrote :)

Deixe uma resposta

 
Seguir

Obtenha todo post novo entregue na sua caixa de entrada.

